Sunday, June 28, 2015

Presenting ... Cousin Silas and Friends | iv

Before you are 45 tracks from Cousin Silas and his friends. This is the fourth such compilation and it is, by far, the largest.

Rather than single any one track out for praise, I will say this: how can you measure such creativity? Can you even attempt to do so using minutes or megabytes alone as your evidence? It is impossible.

What Cousin Silas has done here by not only creating the initial music but by seeking out and bringing together his friends so they can aid him in creating their respective pieces is nothing short of remarkable.

In fact, it is inconceivable, as Vizzini would say.

But here’s the thing … this is the kind of creativity that lives, breathes and makes things happen on the edges of culture. I am proud of all I have achieved with my netlabel, weareallghosts. I am proud to give a home to the creativity that oozes out of this recording.

On the 14th July, 2015; we will celebrate with friends and fans across the world the first Netlabel Day. Unfortunately I will be sunning myself just north of Venice in Italy and will not be able to contribute on the day. So consider Silas & Friends vol. iv to be my early gift.

Please do all you can now and on the 14th July to support netlabels, your ongoing support is vital to ensure this movement can flourish.

A 320kbps version of this release is available over on Archive for free with a lossless version available on Bandcamp for ‘pay what you want’ which does include ‘free’. If you decide to download this album here for free, and you can with our best wishes, then all we ask is that you please tell people about it.





All tracks feature Cousin Silas with one (or more) of his friends ...

01. Aditya Sharma - Escape in F 03:42
02. Headjoint - Dark Skies 03:29
03. Jack Hertz - Anxious Times 05:24
04. Ade Hodges - Charlie Foxtrot 05:35
05. Graham McArthur - 40 Fathoms Down 05:42
06. Chris Newman - A Pale Horse 04:50
07. Fourth Dimension - Seven Hills 04:47
08. Gaetano Fontanazza - Gaining Altitude 07:14
09. Christopher Alvarado - Esoteric Arts 08:11
10. Michael Bruckner - Inside The Complex 05:10
11. Kevin Lyons & Ade Hodges - More Voices 13:30
12. Dawn Tuesday - Dagian 09:10
13. Felixdroid - Lost 08:17
14. Lutz Thuns - Silent Colours 4 Plus Guitar 03:01
15. Black Hill - As The Evening Folds 03:48
16. Owann - Ganges 05:28
17. Ade Hodges - Watching The Neon Lights In The Street Flicker Across His Hand 03:42
18. Jack Hertz - Ascending Dimensions 07:29
19. Peter Davidson - The Passage Of Time 09:57
20. Kevin Lyons - Divining Spirits 05:59
21. Jaime Munariz Ortiz - Moon 04:32
22. Warren Daly - Voyager Says Hello 03:14
23. Martin Neuhold - Selena’s Dance 03:37
24. Ashot Danielyan - Between The Words 04:56
25. Scott Lawler - Hiding Place 06:48
26. Scott Snee - Raining In Paradise 06:42
27. Ian Haygreen - A Lapse Of Memory 06:46
28. VictorYibril - Balthazar 04:29
29. David Gerard - Incidental Melody 07:07
30. Wolfgang Gsell - A Place Of Peace 03:19
31. William Spivey - A Day Trip Onboard Hubble 04:38
32. Zeebra Mann - God 1 05:42
33. Total ET - Beyond The Deep 07:20
34. Kevin Lyons - The Dying Skies Of Mars (Rocket Remix) 04:54
35. Headjoint - Rain Down On Me 03:06
36. Doug Lynner - Silent Sea, Boiling Sky 11:47
37. Dawn Tuesday - Civil Dawn 05:15
38. Har - The Hidden Star Map 10:30
39. Peter Davidson - Vanishing Point 03:53
40. musicformessier - Sol 02:57
41. Jazzdefector - The Return of Prometheus 06:48
42. Kuutana Serenity - Emergence 06:17
43. Wolfgang Gsell - Morning Lights 05:18
44. Colin Blake - Machine Song 05:30
45. Phobos - Dark Matter 09:36

Sunday, June 21, 2015

Presenting ... "Dronescape 027" by Cousin Silas AND "Faith" by Colin Blake

Today is a great day if you love your ambient longform and mysterious. We have two releases for you: the twenty-seventh Dronescape from Cousin Silas and "Faith" from Colin Blake.

First off ... we have Dronescape 027 from Cousin Silas ...

Today is a significant day for me, it is my Wedding Anniversary. I am married to Olwyn and have been for the last 18 years. We have seen so much together. I guess it is true what’s said: time does fly when you are having fun. 
Time is wonderful concept, isn’t it? it flies when we enjoy ourselves and drags when we don’t. Days, weeks, months, years; they all move so quickly and just like any chocolate bar, we don’t get as much now as we used to. 
That’s why I love Cousin Silas’ dronescapes so very much. They give me time. They let me escape the world for an hour or more, aid my concentration and guide me towards the flow.  
Dronescape 027 is the next instalment in our ongoing series, a shorter piece at 60 minutes and yet no less effective. It is an emotive journey, one that is unique to each and every sojourner. 
I really hope you enjoy this soundscape as much as I have.


We then have Faith by Colin Blake ...

A while back Colin Blake had an idea: to create 30 minute slices of sci-fi ambient, slices that could easily fit on the side of a C60 cassette tape. Since the release of “Cones” I was sold on the idea and I have looked for more. 
"Faith (waag_rel072)" is the first in a three-part series that follows Colin’s original C60 idea. Faith is presented as two “sides”: part 1 and part 2, both run near to 30 minutes each and feature some delightfully mysterious ambient music. Over the next few months we will have “Hope” and “Charity” to complete the trilogy. 
I really hope you enjoy Faith as much as I have.

A 320kbps version of both releases is available over on Archive ( for free with lossless versions available on Bandcamp for ‘pay what you want’ which does include ‘free’.

If you decide to download either release for free, and you can with our best wishes, then all we ask is that you please tell people about them.

Oh and if you decide to chip in for either release on Bandcamp then please leave a wee review in your collection so your friends can hear about the album from you.

Thanks for all your support.


Saturday, June 13, 2015

Presenting ... "Ancient Ocean (waag_rel071)" by Scott Lawlor and The Gateless Gate

"Ancient Ocean (waag_rel071)" is a collaboration between versatile ambient musician Scott Lawlor and neo-Krautrock/kosmische act The Gateless Gate (or one half of it, Allister Thompson). Scott’s drones for this piece strongly suggested the ebb and flow of the ocean. However, making yet another oceanic ambient album wasn’t satisfying, so Allister came up with the concept of a primordial ocean, millions of years before the dawn of man. This opened up the door to all sorts of progressive rock influences creeping in, like Pink Floyd and Tangerine Dream.

The first two tracks dive deep into the darkness of this ocean, with choral sounds and organs, as well as guitar mimicking the cries of undersea monsters, playing over Scott’s layered drones and subtle chord and tonal changes, before building up into a space-rock guitar freakout (or two). Allister dedicates his playing on these two tracks to the legendary Dave Brock of Hawkwind, the king of space-rock guitar.

“Lemurian Shores” envisions the mysterious coastal environments of a lost ancient civilization, while “The Deep Ones Call” is a tribute to the maritime mythos of horror writer H.P. Lovecraft, being based particularly on imagery from the novella The Shadow Over Innsmouth.

The artists really enjoyed this collaboration and hope that it will be the first of many.

A 320kbps version of this release is available over on Archive for free with a lossless version available on Bandcamp for ‘pay what you want’ which does include ‘free’. If you decide to download this album here for free, and you can with our best wishes, then all we ask is that you please tell people about it.



Scott Lawlor: synth drones, chords and textures
The Gateless Gate: synth, organ, guitar, mellotron and percussion sounds, voices
Allister Thompson: Liner Notes & Cover Design